top of page

Six skateboarders added to Canada Skateboard's 2022 National Team

Canada Skateboard is proud to announce that six (6) skateboarders have been added to the Canadian National Skateboard Team. The six new team members are joining a team featuring three Olympians Micky Papa, Matt Berger and Andy Anderson, who were part of skateboarding’s big debut in Tokyo. The 2022 National team consists of sixteen skateboarders, starting the journey toward Paris 2024 and LA28. Look for this new group of skateboarders to continue on the path blazed by the veterans of Canadian skateboarding. This group represents the pinnacle of competitive skateboarding in Canada; they compete on the international stage, amaze us in video parts, magazines, and entertain us on social media.

The rookies of the team include nine (9) year old Reese Nelson of Calgary AB, who recently relocated to Carlsbad CA. Reese joins twelve (12) year old Fay Ebert who together represent the continued progression of women’s skateboarding. Both of these young athletes are supported by skateboard legends, Fay by Jaime Thomas, and Reese by none other than Tony Hawk. Dreams coming true for any skater! The five other additional members are joining the program from Halifax, Montreal and Calgary. Johnny Purcell of Halifax, Samantha Secours, winner of the Slurpee Canada Skateboard Open, and Morgan Dejardins Turgeon, represent the Montreal street skaters, with Jesse Ingrilli and Caleb Nicholls joining from Calgary AB. Look for the new team members and veterans on road to Paris 2024!

“Canada Skateboard's National Team is an eclectic, multi-generational, and confident group of skateboarders. A brilliant blend of leadership and experience combined with youth and enthusiasm. They have the nation's support. We are excited to see what this talented team of individuals can accomplish on the world's stage!” - Hagan McCreath, Executive Director, Canada Skateboard.

Canada Skateboard’s 2022 National Skateboard Team is:

Street Skateboard Team

  • Fay De Fazio Ebert, Toronto On

  • Maddy Balt, Brooklin ON

  • Samantha Secours, Montréal QC

  • Micky Papa, Vancouver BC

  • Matt Berger, Kamloops BC

  • Ryan Decenzo, Vancouver BC

  • TJ Rogers, Whitby ON

  • Shay Sandiford, Courtenay BC

  • Morgan Dejardins Turgeon, Montreal QC

  • Andy Anderson, White Rock BC

  • Johnny Purcell, Halifax NS

Park Skateboard Team

  • Fay De Fazio Ebert, Toronto ON

  • Reese Nelson, Calgary AB

  • Andy Anderson, White Rock BC

  • Adam Hopkins, Thunder Bay ON

  • James Clarke, Vancouver BC

  • Caleb Nicholls, Calgary AB

  • Jesse Ingrilli, Calgary AB

“This group includes Olympians, industry veterans, and the new wave of Canadian skaters. I am very excited to be heading into this season and beyond. The path to Paris is paved by the lessons learned on the road to Tokyo.” - Adam Higgins, High-Performance Director.

To watch the team video and learn all about Canada’s first National Skateboard Team visit To schedule an interview with any member of the team or staff of the organization please contact

# # # Canada Skateboard acknowledges that we live, work, and play on the occupied and unsurrendered territories of the Indigenous peoples. We are humbled by the opportunity to promote and grow skateboarding upon these ancestral homelands. Canada Skateboard’s mission is to promote, expose and grow skateboarding in Canada by supporting grassroots initiatives, events, and organizations showcasing the culture, benefits, and values of skateboarding.

If you are interested in supporting Canada’s National Skateboard Team or other programs or initiatives please contact

For ongoing news, photos, and contest updates, become a fan of Canada Skateboard on Instagram & Facebook and click here to join our newsletter to stay up to date on everything Canada Skateboard-related.

Each individual earned their spot on this team in accordance with Canada Skateboard’s National Team Selection Policy which can be referenced at RESOURCES | Canada Skateboard.

Any individual wishing to appeal a selection decision must do so in accordance with the Canada Skateboard Appeals Policy, which is available at Appeals of the selections listed in this announcement should be sent in by April 12, 2022 at 5:00 pm PST. A notice of appeal, as described in the Appeals Policy, must be sent directly to

669 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page